Transatlantique Montréal – 2011-2012 Orientations

In 2011-2012, Transatlantique Montréal aims to focus its efforts on making contemporary dance more visible and accessible to everyone in our city.

The festival was conceived as an annual urban rendezvous that provides a showcase for a variety of new contemporary works, mostly by local artists, thus contributing concretely to the development of the discipline.

A festival such as ours is the ideal forum for young artists who otherwise have very few opportunities to perform in front of an audience, and are often featured for the first time anywhere at Quartiers Danses.

We do not get the chance to see intermediate-level dance companies frequently enough in Montreal. Transatlantique wishes to give them a prominent place and offer the residents of various Montreal boroughs the opportunity to discover the work of our choreographers.

The festival would like to welcome more foreign companies in the future – people whose work would be inspiring for our local dance scene – and to capitalize further on possibilities for exchange and affiliations.

Transatlantique truly being a reflection of Montreal, a cosmopolitan city with its wealth of cultures and approaches, we will pursue our efforts to reach out to cultural and intergenerational communities in various neighbourhoods.

In 2009, we noticed for the first time that the audience had begun following our presentations from one borough to the next. What a fantastic response for our festival, especially as one of the main elements of its mission is to make dance more accessible! The notion of organizing activities that lead the audience to move around and to explore other neighbourhoods and other points of view through works of visual and living art clearly speaks to us, and we hope that our 2011 and 2012 activities generate the same kind of reaction.

Rafik Hubert Sabbagh

Artistic and General Director

Transatlantique Montréal – Orientations 2011-2012

En 2011-2012, Transatlantique Montréal désire donner un grand coup pour rendre la danse contemporaine plus visible et plus accessible à tous les habitants de notre ville.

Le festival se veut un rendez-vous urbain annuel qui offre une large vitrine sur la création contemporaine, majoritairement locale, contribuant ainsi de façon concrète au développement de la discipline.

Un festival comme le nôtre est l’endroit idéal pour les jeunes artistes qui n’ont pas autrement l’occasion de se présenter devant le public, car il leur offre souvent une première plate-forme.

Les compagnies dites « intermédiaires » sont trop peu vues à Montréal. Nous désirons leur donner une place de choix et offrir à la population des arrondissements montréalais la possibilité de découvrir le travail de nos chorégraphes.

Le festival souhaite accueillir davantage de compagnies étrangères dans l’avenir – des compagnies inspirantes pour le milieu de la danse d’ici – et saisir les possibilités d’échanges et d’arrimage.

Nous continuerons à nous efforcer d’atteindre encore plus les différentes communautés culturelles et intergénérationnelles des quartiers pour démontrer que Transatlantique est à l’image de Montréal, ville cosmopolite avec une grande richesse d’approches et de cultures différentes.

En 2009, nous avons constaté pour la première fois que le public se déplaçait d’un arrondissement à l’autre pour suivre nos activités. Quelle extraordinaire réponse pour notre festival, dont un des éléments importants de la mission est la démocratisation de la danse ! L’idée d’organiser des activités qui demandent au public de se déplacer, de découvrir un autre quartier, une autre vision grâce à des œuvres d’art visuel et vivant nous interpelle, et nous espérons vivement que nos activités suscitent encore une fois ce genre de réponse en 2011 et 2012.

Rafik Hubert Sabbagh
Directeur général et artistique